06 January, 2018

{ ARC Review } The Dragon's Price by Bethany Wiggins


about the book }


The Dragon's Price by Bethany Wiggins
Transference, book 1
published February 21, 2017 by Crown Books for Young Readers
e-ARC provided via netgalley
Fans of Julie Kagawa’s Talon and Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn will devour this action-packed fantasy adventure about a girl who chooses to surrender herself to a deadly dragon rather than marry an enemy prince.

When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.


Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast—everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr—not even with each other—and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.

•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•


my review }

♫ ♫ ♫ ♪

First book of 2018! Sort of first review of 2018?

The Dragon's Price was a fun, short novel that you can easily fly through. It has its moments, but I also found the writing to be a bit... childish at times. Some of the dialogue, especially for the dragons, really didn't make them seem like ancient creatures with a wealth of knowledge. Same went for some of the characters—I just couldn't imagine someone saying what they were. Their dialogue was a bit more colloquial than I've encountered in other high fantasy novels, though. Which... necessarily wasn't bad? But it was slightly weird, with them being royal and all and most royals being super stiff, y'know? It just felt oddly modern at times.

For the most part, I did like princess Sorrowlynn. In the beginning, though, she felt like one of those special snowflakes (wrong phrasing, perhaps)—the only princess not as beautiful as her sisters, the only treated poorly and unfairly than them, all that nonsense. A lot of that stuff where she just isn't like everyone else in her family, maybe even amongst all nobility. It got pointed out a lot throughout the book, which was kind of annoying... there's only so many times a reader can take that, as if being everything her sisters or the nobility were all inherently bad or something. I don't know, but I could've... not gone with that, lol.

Despite that, hers is an interesting character and I did like watching her grow throughout the novel. She's definitely had a strange journey—a strange life, I suppose, being locked up and hidden away for most of her life—but she does manage to take care of herself in The Dragon's Price. I admired her strength and urge to move forward.

The romance was... a bit amusing? Slightly embarrassing to read? You can tell there's an attraction almost immediately and it only grows throughout the book. I will admit at times it was... awkward? But it was still kind of cute, with Sorrow figuring out how to deal with her feelings and sudden desires and fighting her proper upbringing. But there is banter and a nice cameraderie between Golmarr and the princess!

The book ended on a pretty interesting note, so I'm excited to see where book 2 takes these characters! Overall: 3.5 stars.


•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•


buy the book }


No comments:

Post a Comment